2016 retrospective

I got nothing to say except fuck this year and good riddance.

tumblr_inline_o3mgireexd1ta5edu_500
Okay, I can do better than that. My first book was published this year (Blank Spaces). It released the week after the US elections and gave me many mixed feelings – it was hard to get excited when I was certain the Western world was headed for extinction via populist lies and Twitter abuse. Nonetheless, publishing a book is a dream realised! It’s an achievement, and it’s the pinnacle of a very trying year.

I will not ever publish a four-book series like this again – mostly because they’ve taken up literally all my free time when other things in my life needed some desperate changes and attention. That’s entirely on me though. Nope, I’ll have all four books written before pitching to anyone, or I’ll make sure not to have a Day Job destroying my sanity in the background next time. That said, my writing has improved in leaps and bounds, and it’s all down to sustained editing and feedback, and implementing that into the next book. Doing a series in a year has really forced me to focus, write, develop, and manage my time. I’ve learned a lot from the process, and I’ll be forever grateful that my publisher took me on and worked with me through what has been a difficult year for everyone.

Other good 2016 things: connected with old and new friends, processed life stuff, travelled a little, read some awesome books. Really, that’s it. Most of my time has been divided between writing and Day Job (and freaking out about politics and cool people dying), so my first priority for 2017 is to make a few big personal changes and give myself something new to do.

Then maybe another book. Or a sequel to one I’ve written already.

We’ll see.

tumblr_o0gsmkdrje1umn198o1_400

 

