March + April

  • Writing: nowt.
  • Moving logistics have slowly amped up over these two months. I’m trying to be ruthless about decluttering, but it’s difficult.
  • Baldur’s Gate 3 has taken over my life. I’m currently doing a murderhobo evil Dark Urge run and omg it’s a totally different game. I also feel like a monster for certain choices, but after two fairly similar good playthroughs, it’s amazing to experience significant differences. I was eyeing Honour Mode, but realistically, I wouldn’t finish it before I leave Switzerland, so I won’t start it. Also, the Ketheric/Myrkul encounter in Tactician had me questioning my gaming ability; I will definitely need to play the game through a few more times in Tactician before I feel secure enough to attempt a serious Honour Mode run.
  • Reading: I finally finished Villette! And then read like four other books afterwards! On a freaking roll, damn.
  • Watching: I watched the new live-action ATLA on Netflix. It was okay. Highly abridged and condensed, expository, and adding what I thought was unnecessary backstory for Azula at the expense of Mai and Ty Lee. I kept waiting to see Ty Lee in action, and Mai to deliver her usual gothgirl zingers, but alas! However, it was fun and a decentish retelling. I also watched a mockumentary, No Men Beyond This Point, which was funny and incisive. Bridgerton got two rewatches, because I’m now, despite efforts otherwise, a solid fan and waiting anxiously for the Polin season (why does that portmanteau only contain one letter of Penelope’s name and all but one letter of Colin’s? Penlin was right there! Colope? No?). The trailer is so intriguing: the triangle looks good, Violet seems to have a potential new beau, Eloise seems to be dipping her toes into the dark side, and what will happen with Lady Whistledown? What will Colin say?! The premiere can’t come too soon.
  • Music: discovered The 1975. Unsure how I feel about most of their lyrics, but The Sound is so damn catchy that I’m choosing to ignore them.