September/October

Less autumn, more extended summer

  • The weather was unseasonably warm for a worryingly long time. I love the summer, but when you live in a part of the world renowned for distinct seasons, it feels odd when those seasons don’t happen as expected.
  • It’s been a wild two months. The day job got horrendous, I started getting stressed again, then my mother died. Like, no joke. In a strange irony, my work stress has basically disappeared, because screw that noise in the face of grief. Everything feels surreal as I type this.
  • Writing: nothing. I have stuff planned, but am really not feeling the urge at the moment.
  • Reading: also nothing.
  • Watching: a bunch of stuff. I watched a lot on various international flights: the last three Star Wars movies, The Eyes of Tammy Faye, others I’ve otherwise forgotten in the rush of everything. On terra firma, I watched The Witch (2015) and despite horror very much not being my genre, enjoyed it a lot. Hocus Pocus and a playlist of The Simpsons‘ Treehouse of Horror episodes rounded out Halloween. I also introduced my sibling to Gravity Falls. There was probably some garbage reality TV in the mix somewhere.
  • Music: revisited the 70s and 80s. The Eagles, Van Morrison, Billy Ocean, Stevie Nicks etc.